When you weren’t listening


When you weren’t listening,
I started to sing a song about our life.
It was a beautiful song that I can sing only to myself
I don’t remember when I stopped singing those songs to you,
always the same tenor, always the same dreams,
day after day, week after week.

I look back now and realize,
the dreams I shared with you have grown old and withered,
they don’t bear any fruit (they never did)

When you weren’t listening,
I silently crept out to the tree and sang a song,
recalling a story I had heard during childhood,
that trees have souls,
and when souls fall in love, they overbrim with happiness,
and produce magical fruits.

When you weren’t listening
I stood silently by the pier, watching a sealion
gently nudge its baby up on the wharf
while my son stood against a railing, in Embarcadero,
We passed the cold morning at Hong Kong
waiting for the counter to open,
a Chinese baby, an American couple,
a new found home in San Francisco

I watched the fiery pyres from above,
and the smell of burning
human flesh,
flames leaping high up, chasing
flashes of amber shooting with the wind.
I have a shaven head, complete
for it’s scary to be a stranger,
when there’s a war
against terror.

If dreams could burn,they would burn fiercely
refusing to turn to ashes,
which the priest hurriedly sweeps down
into a dirty river, along with the ambers
and charred bones.

When you weren’t listening,
I sang a song to you,
Don’t give up.
It is not yet time to give up.
We don’t want to be two tired souls, who stopped loving each other,
because they got tired of their dreams.

When you weren’t listening,
I shed a tear, and cried
but that’s normal
because I can’t dream without you,
because all my dreams
are for you.

 

====

Check out these related posts:

Diteez

Keshuvko
Bhoowan

Yugzeetah

6 responses to “When you weren’t listening”

  1. sewa says :

    i like the last stanza a lot. very expressive poem. but why does it say part ? is there more to come?

  2. archal1 says :

    Thanks. Yes, this is an incomplete poem. Part II is yet to come.

  3. sewa says :

    seems like u have completed. i really like the line “If dreams could burn,they would burn fiercely, refusing to turn to ashes”. i have even posted on my fb.
    ur poem is full of such touching imagery. about trees having souls. about singing to someone who has stopped listening, about hope and not giving up, really liked reading it.

  4. keshuvko says :

    Wow. You have gone global in this poem.
    I felt for a while that I was in some restaurant in SF looking at Alcatraz.🙂
    I liked this part the most:
    “If dreams could burn,they would burn fiercely
    refusing to turn to ashes,
    which the priest hurriedly sweeps down
    into a dirty river, along with the ambers
    and charred bones”
    Best

  5. Renu says :

    Very touching ! wow my eyes are full of tears!!!

Leave a Reply

